Commissioners Meeting

January 17, 2017, 8:00 a.m.

Present: Rick Nobbe, Jerome Buening and Mark Koors

The January 3rd meeting minutes were approved as amended.

The accounts payable claims and payroll claims were reviewed and approved to be paid.

Highway Superintendent Mark Mohr told the Commissioners it takes a day for his road crew to prep the snow plow trucks for ice or snow; then another day to 'fit the trucks' to haul stone to work on 'sub-base failures'. He asked the Commissioners if they have heard/received any information on the 2017 Community Crossing Grant Program. Rumors are INDOT may skip that program this year even though there's about \$19 million left over since there were fewer than expected applicants in 2016.

Area Plan Director Krista Duvall presented **Decatur County Ordinance 2016-16** rezoning 10,000 square feet out of 37.4 acres, from A- to A-2, to construct a wireless communication tower. This petition was submitted by **Capital Telecom Holdings LLC, by Clark, Quinn, Moses, Scott and Grahn LLC.** Mr Koors moved to approve this ordinance, Mr Buening seconded the Mr Nobbe concurred. Mr Nobbe asked Ms Duvall if she would get the petitioners' contact information to inquire about renting space on this tower. Ms Duvall presented a letter for the Commissioners' signatures informing **Homeland Security Office** in Indianapolis that **Kenny Buening is the Building Commissioner for Decatur County**.

Mr Buening moved to sign the **CY 2017 Covered Bridge Certification**, Mr Koors seconded the motion and Mr Nobbe concurred. This form will be submitted to the **Auditor of State's office** for the State's annual funding for maintenance.

Mr Koors moved to approve the **Decatur County United Fund's** request for use of the Courthouse grounds on June 1st and 2nd for their **Annual Strawberry Festival.** Mr Buening seconded the motion and Mr Nobbe concurred.

Mr Nobbe is still looking for someone to serve on the **Alcoholic Beverage Commission**. He has asked several individuals who are already serving in 'lucrative positions'.

Mr Buening moved to appoint Dr James Howell to the **Decatur County Board of Health,** Mr Koors seconded the motion and Mr Nobbe concurred.

Mr Nobbe reported he attended the **Westport Council** meeting and they did adopt the **Decatur County Ordinance, Version T,** setting the membership of the **Area Plan Commission.** Jay Schoettmer will represent the **Advisory Council on Small Town Affairs** on the **APC.**

Mr Nobbe stated the elected **County Surveyor** as well as the **Decatur County Extension Ag Agent** is to sit on the **Area Plan Commission Board** by virtue of their office, with no set term of service.

Mr Buening moved to adopt **Decatur County Ordinance 2017-1, Version T,** and Mr Koors seconded the motion and Mr Nobbe concurred.

Mr Koors moved to confirm County Surveyor Andy Scholle and County Extension Ag Agent Jeff Hermesch, by virtue of their office, will not have a set term. Mr Buening seconded the motion and Mr Nobbe concurred.

Mr Buening moved to confirm Jay Hatton as Decatur County Community School Board's appointment with his term ending on December 31, 2019. Mr Koors seconded and Mr Nobbe concurred.

Mr Koors moved to confirm Bill Dieckmann as the Decatur County Council's appointment with his term ending December 31, 2019. Mr Buening seconded and Mr Nobbe concurred.

Mr Buening moved to confirm Vince Smith as the Decatur County Council's second appointment with his term ending on December 31, 2020. Mr Koors seconded and Mr Nobbe concurred.

Mr Koors moved to confirm Jay Schoettmer as Small Towns Council appointment with his term ending on December 31, 2020. Mr Buening seconded the motion.

Mr Buening moved to confirm Greensburg Community Schools Superintendent Tom Hunter as a member to the APC with his term ending on December 31, 2018. Mr Koors seconded the motion.

Mr Koors moved to appoint Albert Armand to the APC with his term ending on December 31, 2017. Mr Buening seconded the motion and Mr Nobbe concurred.

Mr Buening moved to appoint Paul Stone as the Commissioners' representative on the APC with his term ending on December 31, 2018. Mr Koors seconded the motion and Mr Nobbe concurred.

County Attorney Drew Young will check on the term length for the Advisory Council on Small Towns appointment as Ms Duvall asked if it should be only a two year term.

Greensburg Mayor Dan Manus has the option to appoint an "ex officio" to the County's APC, but that person would not have any voting powers.

Visitors, Recreation and Tourism Director Gary Herbert presented information to the Commissioners on the 'request for additional monies' which he will present to the Decatur County Council at their February meeting. Mr Koors signed the confidentiality form for Mr Herbert since the financial information presented to the Commissioners is confidential by State Statute. Mr Herbert stated the Visit Decatur County Inc's bank balance at First Federal as of December 31, 2016 is \$162,328.27; the County Tourism Fund 1127 had a balance of \$593,106.18 as of December 31, 2016. Fund balances are not confidential. Several grant applications (Decatur County Parks and Rec, Main Street Greensburg, Fair Board) have been received by the Tourism Board for various updates/improvements. Mr Herbert would like to add a 'late payment penalty clause' to the ordinance on the Innkeepers' Tax.

Mr Young explained some changes on the **Draw Note and Security Agreement** between **Main Source Bank** and the County Commissioners. The 'parity clause' was added so this financial agreement would not impair any future bonds the Commissioners/Council may consider.

Mr Buening moved to approve **Decatur County Ordinance 2017-1, Version H.** Mr Koors seconded the motion and Mr Nobbe concurred. The term limit of each appointment was stated at the time of appointment, so this ordinance does not include those dates. The ordinance was written as such per Attorney John Molitor's recommendations in a letter to the Commissioners.

With nothing else to come before the Commissioners, Mr Koors moved to recess, Mr Buening seconded and Mr Nobbe concurred. Meeting recessed.

The next Commissioner meeting will be February 6th, 2017 at 8:00 a.m.

	Richard J Nobbe, President
Attest	
Date:	