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IC 6-1.1-3-7.2
Exemption for certain business personal property with acquisition
cost less than $20,000; notarized certification

Sec. 7.2. (a) This section applies to assessment dates occurring
after December 31, 2015.

(b) As used in this section, "affiliate" means an entity that
effectively controls or is controlled by a taxpayer or is associated
with a taxpayer under common ownership or control, whether by
shareholdings or other means.

(c) As used in this section, "business personal property" means
personal property that:

(1) is otherwise subject to assessment and taxation under this
article;
(2) is used in a trade or business or otherwise held, used, or
consumed in connection with the production of income; and
(3) was:
(A) acquired by the taxpayer in an arms length transaction
from an entity that is not an affiliate of the taxpayer, if the
personal property has been previously used in Indiana before
being placed in service in the county; or
(B) acquired in any manner, if thc personal property has
never been previously used in Indiana before being placed in
service in the county.
The term does not include mobile homes assessed under IC 6-1.1-7,
personal property held as an investment, or personal property that is
assessed under IC 6-1.1-8 and is owned by a public utility subject to
regulation by the Indiana utility regulatory commission. However, the
term does include the personal property of a telephone company or
a communications service provider ifthat personal property meets the
requircments of subdivisions (1) through (3), regardless of whether
that personal property is assessed under IC 6-1.1-8 and regardless of
whether the telephone company or communications service provider
is subject to regulation by the Indiana utility regulatory commission.

(d) Notwithstanding section 7 of this chapter, if the acquisition
cost of a taxpayer's total business personal property in a county is less
than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) for that assessment date, the
taxpayer's business personal property in the county for that
assessment datc is cxempt from taxation.

(c) A taxpayer that is eligible for the exemption under this section
is not required to file a personal property return for the taxpayer's
business personal property in the county for that assessment date.
However, the taxpayer must, before May 15 of the calendar year in
which the assessment date occurs, file with the county assessor an
annual notarized certification signed under penalties for perjury
stating that the taxpayer's business personal property in the county is
exempt from taxation under this section for that assessment date.
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