## **Decatur County Council Meeting**

Tuesday, December 18, 2018, Room 106

**Present:** Ernie Gauck, Danny Peters, Larry Meyer, Judge John Westhafer, Bill Metz, Kenny Owens and Kenny Hooten

Councilman Kenny Owens led the Pledge of Allegiance to our Flag.

The Auditor's office found the July  $9^{th}$  special meeting minutes had not been approved by the Council. Mr Metz moved to approve the July  $9^{th}$  special meeting minutes and Mr Owens seconded the motion. Motion carries, 7 - 0.

After reviewing minutes for the Council's regular meeting on November  $20^{th}$ , Mr Hooten moved to approve the minutes, Mr Meyer seconded the motion. Motion carries, 7 - 0.

**Adult Probation Matt Hoeing** had contacted the Auditor's office about a pay raises, given by the State in the Grant monies and in Probation User Fees. Mr Hoeing had submitted a request for 'additional monies' which needs to be advertised. Since Mr Hoeing was not able to attend this meeting, Deputy Auditor Reiger stated Mr Hoeing is asking for a gentlemen's agreement-approval for those pay raises now and the Council will officially approve the request for additional monies in their January  $15^{th}$  meeting. Mr Peters moved to give Mr Hoeing a gentlemen's agreement to approve the additional, Mr Metz seconded the motion. Motion carries, 7-0.

Judge Westhafer moved to approve/adopt the 2019 Salary Ordinance for Decatur County and Mr Owens seconded the motion. Motion carries, 7 – 0. Council signed the 2019 Salary Ordinance. Deputy Auditor Smiley told Council there may be some amendments in February or March as some departments may reassign employee's duties/classifications after the first of the year.

In reviewing the requests for transfers, Mr Gauck asked about the \$1,025,000 transfer from Rainy Day to the Non-Reverting Health Insurance. Commissioner Rick Nobbe explained efforts to turn the negative balance around and fully fund our health insurance in 2019. The goal is to get this fund built up and keep it 'in the black', so monies could repay the Rainy Day and EDIT funds. Mr Metz moved to approve the requests for transfers and Mr Peters seconded the motion. Motion carries, 7-0.

Council, by proclamation, made the following **Board Appointments:** 

Alcoholic Beverage Commission- reappoint Rheadawn Metz

Attorney for Council- reappoint Lora Reed Williams;

Solid Waste Management Board- reappoint Kenny Hooten;

Southeastern Regional Planning Commission- Judge Westhafer will continue serving;

County Redevelopment Commission- reappoint Jim Saler and appoint Danny Peters;

Economic Development Commission- ask Council-elect Deanna Burkart next month, replacing James Tomson:

Vernon Fork Water District- Larry Meyer agreed to stay on it;

Visitors, Recreation and Tourism Board- Mr Owens asked if it might be good to have a Council member on this board. Council voiced concerns on monies being collected but nothing happening; agreed to wait until new director is announced to see what direction that board chooses. They decided to reappoint Joann Burkhart and Stephanie Hoeing to the Tourism Board and plan to attend future Tourism Board meetings.

Deputy Auditor Reiger asked should any departments need a transfer of monies between now and December 31, 2018, could she email the requests to Council members and they email their yeas or nays. Council agreed to email their votes via email.

Mr Meyer asked if any Council members had received an email from some of Animal Control. Council agreed Animal Control has their own Board who needs to take action.

Mr Gauck shared an idea for honoring Tom Carroll: as Council would start a 'wall of fame' to honor any elected official, present or past, nominated by the Council; starting with Tom Carroll. He asked Council to think about it and decide next meeting. Council agreed they should do this.

Mr Gauck read the following Proclamation recognizing Kenny Owens for his twelve years of serving as County Commissioner and the twenty-four years he served on the County Council.

## **PROCLAMATION**

On the occasion of December 18, 2018 meeting of the Decatur County (Indiana) Council, we fellow citizens and friends, honor and thank retiring Councilman Kenny Owens; and

Whereas, Kenneth L Owens served as a Decatur County Commissioner from January 1, 1981 through December 31, 1992, for a total of three terms; and

Whereas, Kenneth L Owens served on the Decatur County Council from January 1, 1995 through December 31, 2018, for a total of six terms; and

Whereas, Kenneth L Owens is known to serve long hours for the people of Decatur County, known to give his best and all as an elected official; and

Whereas, Kenneth L Owens has admirers and friends in Decatur County and elsewhere, all of whom wish him good health and happiness; and

Whereas, this 18<sup>th</sup> day of December, we unanimously seek to Thank and Honor our friend, Kenneth L Owens, the Decatur County Council members and all present this day, do by our signatures join these good wishes.

Mr Hooten moved to approve the Proclamation honoring Kenny Owens and Mr Peters seconded the motion. Motion carries, 7 – 0. Mr Owens thanked all, saying the Council has been great to work with; he also thanked the Auditor's office ladies for all of their outstanding work as well as the Treasurer's office. Mr Gauck invited anyone who would like to join in a luncheon for Mr Owens, 11:30 today at the Osgood Grub Co.

**Sheriff-elect David Durant** asked to be put on the Council's agenda in January to present his 'state of the department' report.

Mr Meyer moved the present officers of the Council be retained for one year: Mr Gauck- President and Mr Peters- Vice President. Mr Metz seconded the motion. Motion carries, 7 - 0.

Mr Nobbe, on behalf of the Commissioners, thanked Mr Owens for his thirty-six years of public service. Mr Owens expressed his appreciation for all working together, not agreeing all of the time which is good; but still getting things done.

With nothing else to come before the Council, Mr Owens moved to adjourn and Mr Peters seconded the motion. Meeting adjourned.

 Ernest Gauck, President

The Council's next meeting is January 15<sup>th</sup>, 2019 at 9:00 am.

	_		
Attest:	 		
Date:			